Australian Directors' Guild   

  • HOME


13/05/2024 5:23 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

ADG Board and staff acknowledge and thank our four esteemed board members who are stepping aside: Stephen Wallace, Pearl Tan, Daina Reid and Anna Broinowski.

Stephen Wallace (Stir, Blood Oath, Turtle Beach) was a founding signatory of the Guild and has been a consecutive Board member for the past 33 years. He was President from 1991 to 2000 and has stewarded ADG finances in recent years as Treasurer. His work has been recognised with the Cecil Holmes Award, which acknowledged his advocacy for directorial rights and contributions to the community. Was awarded an Order of Australia in 2005. Stephen’s legacy includes not only his cinematic work but also his advocacy for directors' rights, which has helped shape the industry. 

Pearl Tan (Minority Box, The Casting Game), as Vice President of New Media, has brought invaluable insight into the evolving digital landscape and pathways for emerging directors. Pearl is also a pivotal figure in advocacy for diversity and inclusivity in the Australian film and TV industry and has contributed to the ADG significantly.

Daina Reid (Run Rabbit Run, The Handmaid’s Tale) ADG Secretary, has been generous and thoughtful in her role on the Board. Beyond her directorial accomplishments, Daina has contributed to our work in advancing industry standards and actively worked at promoting diversity and inclusion within the screen industry.

Anna Broinowski (Forbidden Lie$, Aim High in Creation), as VP Documentary, has advocated for and offered the perspective of documentary directors to Board and staff of the ADG. Anna’s approach to documentary filmmaking is characterized by a willingness to tackle complex issues and this has carried across. Anna has provided invaluable guidance and advice to members and staff on their behalf.

We are immensely thankful to Anna, Stephen, Pearl, and Daina for their service, which has set a high standard for leadership and excellence.

Sophie Harper

Executive Director