Navigation Menu

2012 ADG Awards

Winners announced in the 2012 Australian Director's Guild Awards.

The winners of the Australian Directors’ Guild Awards for 2012 were announced last Friday night at a ceremony in Sydney, which also celebrated the ADG’s 30th anniversary.

Each ADG Award category is judged by a panel of Director peers.

Matthew Saville won two Awards - Best Direction in a TV Drama Series was for The Slap (Ep 3 – Harry) and Best Direction in a TV Mini Series for Cloudstreet.

Julia Leigh has won the Award for Best Direction in a Feature Film for Sleeping Beauty. Two winners were announced in the Best Direction in a Documentary Feature category – Tony Krawitz for The Tall Man and Bob Connolly and Sophie Raymond for Mrs Carey’s Concert.

Tony Krawitz also received the Finders Award. The ADG, in partnership with the Directors Guild of America Finders series, selects one Australian feature film, which is yet to secure US distribution and is an entry in the 2012 ADG Awards, to screen in Los Angeles to key industry figures, including distributors. This year, the film chosen is The Tall Man.

Winner of Best Direction in a Documentary Series for Go Back to Where You Came From was Ivan O’Mahoney and winner for Best Direction in a Documentary (Stand Alone category) is Phoebe Hart for Orchids: My Intersex Adventure.

Emma Freeman has won Best Direction in a Telemovie for Hawke. Winners of the Best Direction in a TV Comedy category were Jeffrey Walker, Stuart McDonald and Chris Lilley for Angry Boys.

Winner of the Award for Best Direction in a TV Drama Serial is Geoffrey Nottage for Home & Away (Ep 5215). There were two winners announced for Best Direction in TV Reality Program/Light Entertainment - Ken Connor and Kathy Chambers for RocKwiz – On the Road, and Mark Adamson for Dancing with the Stars.

Jeffrey Walker received his second Award for the night winning The Esben Storm Award for Best Direction in a Children’s TV Program for H20: Just Add Water (Series 3).

Winner for Best Direction in a Television Commercial was Damien Toogood for Sydney Dogs and Cats Home. Winner for Best Direction in a Music Video was Steve Rogers for Jack Ladder ‘Cold Feet’.

Winner for Best Direction in an Original Online Project was Dario Russo for Danger 5: The Diamond Girls. The Award for Best Direction of a Short Film went to Ashlee Page for The Kiss. Winner for Best Direction in a Student Film was Epiphany Morgan for The Room.

The ADG Award winners for 2012 were announced at a black tie Awards ceremony, held as part of the ADG’s 30th anniversary celebrations, at the Australian Maritime Museum, Sydney, on May 11.

The Cecil Holmes Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Directors Guild was presented by Richard Harris to Stephen Wallace.

The ADG Awards are made possible through the generous assistance of Film Victoria, Screen Australia, Screen NSW, South Australian Film Corporation, ASDACS,  ABCTV, Australian Children’s Television Foundation,  Nine Network, Seven Network, SBS Corporation and Screenwise Film & TV School for Actors.